Beech Elected As Cordell’s New Mayor

McLaughlin, Penner, Maddox-Tilley, Wedel Re-elected; Newman Elected To Council

The Washita County Board of Elections have announced the unofficial results of the Tuesday, April 2, 2019, municipal elections, and Jerry Beech has been declared the winner in the Cordell mayoral election. Also victorious in Tuesday’s election were city council incumbents Steven McLaughlin (Ward 1), Zetta Penner (Ward 2), Kelly Maddox-Tilley (Ward 3), and Cheryl Wedel (Ward 4). James Newman, Jr. was elected to the remaining two years on the Ward 3 seat vacated by Joseph Boecker in his unsuccessful challenge of Maddox-Tilley.

Incumbent city treasurer Lawana Price and city marshal Brandon Rogers were also handily re-elected over challengers Sarah Lau and TImothy Maines, respectively.

With 100 percent of precincts reporting, Beech carried 333 votes to Oliver’s 220, a 60-40 split.


To read more please log in or subscribe to the digital edition.